Ganges River – Ganga, Haridwar, India

The Ganges begins at the confluence of the Bhagirathi (Stream of  (Gangotri Glacier at Gomukh) and Alaknanda rivers at Devprayag.

The six headstreams are the Alaknanda, Dhauliganga, Nandakini, Pindar, Mandakini, and Bhagirathi rivers.
The five confluences, known as the Panch Prayag.
The length of the Ganges is frequently said to be slightly over 2,500 km (1,600 mi) long.
After entering Bangladesh, the main branch of the Ganges is known as the Padma. The Padma is joined by the Jamuna River, the largest distributary of the Brahmaputra. Further downstream, the Padma joins the Meghna River, the second largest distributary of the Brahmaputra, and takes on the Meghna’s name as it enters the Bay of Bengal.
The Ganges is a sacred river to Hindus along every fragment of its length.


Ganges River, Haridwar
Ganges River, Northern India

More Information:

The Holy River

Related Information :

Ganga Aarti

Ganga Chalisa